Skip to content

Monika Kędra

Dr hab. Monika Kędra - oceanographer, marine ecologist, associate professor at the Department of Marine Ecology at the Institute of Oceanology of the Polish Academy of Sciences. She obtained a master's degree at the Faculty of Biology, Oceanography and Geography of the University of Gdańsk in 2003, and a doctorate and habilitation in 2008 and 2016 at the Institute of Oceanology of the Polish Academy of Sciences. In 2011-2013, she completed a two-year postdoctoral fellowship at the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory University of Maryland Center for Environmental Sciences in the USA. For her achievements, she was awarded a scholarship from the Ministry of Science and Higher Education for outstanding young scientists.

Her research interests include the functioning of marine benthic communities, with particular emphasis on the impact of climate change and seasonality on the biodiversity and dynamics of benthic populations, food webs and the carbon cycle. It conducts its research mainly in the Arctic Ocean, both in shelf seas and deep basins and the Baltic Sea.

She is the author or co-author of about 50 scientific publications in peer-reviewed journals from the JCR list. She has participated in many national and international research projects; currently she is managing project financed by the National Science Center (Sonata Bis). She has participated in many international research expeditions, incl. on cruises in the Barents, Greenland, Bering, Chukchi Seas, Spitsbergen Fjords and the Nansen Basin. She is very active in the international field: she co-founded and then was one of the chairmen of the pan-Arctic research network Arctic in Rapid Transition (ART), which brings together young scientists involved in Arctic research. Currently, she is a Polish delegate to the Maritime Working Group at the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and the Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna (CAFF) Benthic Working Group at the Arctic Council. She is a member of the Sea Research Committee of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the Polar Research Committee of the Polish Academy of Sciences, and since 2016 a member of the Academy of Young Scientists.

More information: